Don’t Mind the Abrasions

This is a revised edition of a perviously [ sic – I think this incorrect spelling is an official Freudian slip]  posted poem I wrote while living in Portland, Oregon. It was inspired by the downtown folks there, and by a secret crush I had on a woman who didn’t know me.

(__)^(__)

*

Don’t Mind the Abrasions

There’s unpolluted fantasy in my head

And the world keeps peering in

*

It abrades my skull with perfected hubris

Hoping to see some tender, strife-free crannies inside

But just as my sanctuary is glimpsed

The world tears me wide open

Pumping its contamination in

*

You should ride downtown on vintage green bicycle

And join me posing undead on warm wrinkled pavement

*

I relish when you dig my splinters free

Pour the hydrogen peroxide on

Then patch me up again

*

We should walk with a limp and moan violently

For there’s nothing better than unwanted street theater

*

I’ll bleed from worldly abrasions

As you hang your head heavily to distort spine

*

We’ll gain priceless satisfaction from those who park their asses

To eat their lunches

On soiled park benches

*

While the sun mother sets

We’ll build a firewall of delight in my head

Watch the unending metal traffic inch by tip to tail

And when bored beyond bearing

I’ll flip the go-switch for world detonation

*

Everyone outside our firewall

Will burn in their contorted passions

Of greed

And lust

And pain

A hot-flash parade of human torches

As unable to stop the change

As chucks of seasoned wood

*

 

And we

Will abide

*

5 thoughts on “Don’t Mind the Abrasions

  1. I love your unique voice. The thought that even when it hurts, the adoration continues is as intense as the desire to escape into a perfect bubble, safe from the external influences and ignorances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

