A Third Stranger at the Helm

image by k shawn edgar

A Third
Stranger
At the
Helm

Oh, brake lights
my body has ’em.
Seize my pedal, Stranger,
to keep it from engaging
the Lights of No.

My brain is not minding
the Store of Selflessness
today.

Oh, my. Oh, my
darkling chorus is on
strike-
ing
cliffs above
Dover.

Dover is never
that thing you’ve seen
in mirrors,
Maiden.

Its voices
ringing out above
frayed edges
of my headache-blazed
brake lights.

My body has ’em
squeaking with wear
and tear-
ing

apart my mind,
for a third Stranger
is at the helm.

Third Stranger is the one
who tells me to tell
the words out right;

right out
in the street
between the brake lights
at night.

6 thoughts on “A Third Stranger at the Helm

Leave a Reply

