Broken Ducks

20110729-082514.jpg

Come up from green water
flat and humorless with mucky shade
Come up from tangled broken tree branches
my happy bright-eyed fellow two-legs
Come up from communal droppings
your torpedo body listing side to side
with each slow triangular step
Come up from muddy moss slopes
half-fleshed in shiny water you appear
awkward on a landscape of dry pommeled earth
Come up from your apprehension to eat castoffs
it’s minuscule pickings for you of green bill
it’s stale bread for me too this season
Come up from your waterloo my friend
I cannot enter the shallow depths of stagnation
Come up from green water
share these bulgur wheat ends and pieces
for I cannot share your vulgar grubs and grasses
Come up from your pond to my bench in the sunlight
share my comforts of refined flour fluff feathered-one
these days are for lounging, looking, and learning.

12 thoughts on “Broken Ducks

  1. So very much enjoyed!

    “Come up from your waterloo my friend
    I cannot enter the shallow depths of stagnation”

    Still waters run deep, and so does this poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

